My Lens & Me

“A great photograph is a full expression of what one feels about what is being photographed in the deepest sense and is thereby a true expression of what one feels about life in its entirety.”    

                                                                                                           ..Ansel Adams

PHOTOGRAPHY is an addiction. Its like you begin to see the world around you in square or rectangle frames. There is always a moment in your everyday life when you want to be able to capture what you see and keep that memory with you forever.. Alfred Stieglitz said In photography there is a reality so subtle that it becomes more real than reality” , which is so true because we always trust a photograph much more than the memories in our mind itself.

CAMERA is the eye of a photographer !!! Its a wonderful tool with which you can share your brilliant moments with people across the world and also be part of theirs’ while sitting in the comforts of your own living room.

My interest in photography was very gradual. It started with a good phone camera which led to me clicking photos, editing photos and finally uploading them. However, the one important thing that really made me pursue my interest was the appreciation and ‘likes’ that my photos got. People around me started calling me a ‘good photographer and I was always given the task of taking pictures at functions or get-togethers or while holidaying etc. Soon it became my Hobby. I created an album ‘Still, Life’ which showcased all the pictures I have clicked and edited.

Some people say its just about ‘clicking’ and thus no big deal, but for me its all about putting across to someone else what I felt or thought at that moment through my photograph and the caption. Its a feeling of joy while passing on to the world the architectural beauty of ancients forts I visited or the fun I had at the festivals in my city or when mother nature showed me her best.

People say it is very difficult nowadays to create a hobby and more difficult to keep it. The older you grow the shorter your days become and the lesser time you have on hand for yourself or your hobbies. We get so held up with what we are supposed to do or expected to do that we never find time for what we want to do. With social pressure, family expectations, work obligations and life changing decisions keeping us on our toes finding free time is unheard of. However, the happiness that I get when some photograph of mine is reaaaallly liked or some people i rarely talk to follow my uploads regularly knows no bounds.

Its MY hobby MY passion MY Photographs MY moments MY achievement and the appreciation that I have earned.

Henri Cartier-Bensen also known as the Father of Photojournalism once said “Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst”. Well, i am still far away from that number but i hope that i am improving with every click and i wish that one day when i look back at my album i shall relive all those wonderful moments which i managed to capture through my tiny lens..

To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.

                                                                       …Elliot Erwitt

7 responses to “My Lens & Me

  1. Kinnari,

    Great thought to know from the picture you snap, but your ability to snap in depth is highly potentials of the objects is really appreciable specialy by me. Keep it up and get the Message of the Life in this Anand… papa

Leave a Reply

